Porteous, Lombard, Wall earn Open invites


Three players on Sunday at the Joburg Open - Haydn Porteous, Zander Lombard, and Anthony Wall - earned invites to this year's Open Championship.

The Joburg is part of the Open Qualifying Series, which awards a select number of invitations to players not already qualified for the Open.

Porteous won his first European Tour title, as Lombard finished second and Wall tied for third. Wall gets the spot thanks to his higher world ranking (No. 165), which gives him priority over Daniel Im (No. 368), Bjorn Akesson (No. 380), and Justin Walters (No. 438).

Porteous and Lombard will be making their first Open appearances. Wall's best finish in five attempts was a T-12 last year.

“It’s a dream for any golfer out there, through junior golf, amateur golf and professional golf,” Porteous said, via the R&A. “It’s the best of the best, even to go to The Open and watch is a big thing. To get into The Open on merit is just a dream come true.”

Seven players - Matt Jones, Nick Cullen, Rod Pampling, Jamie Donaldson, Clement Sordet, Phachara Khongwatmai and Lee Westwood - had already qualified thanks to their finishes at the Australian Open and Thailand Golf Championship.

The next qualifying event isn't until the Mizuno Open in Japan from May 26-29.

This year's Open Championship will be held at Royal Troon from July 14-17. Zach Johnson is the defending champion.