Rahm wins Hogan Award as top college/amateur player


Arizona State's Jon Rahm. (Getty Images)

Arizona State junior Jon Rahm was named the winner of the Ben Hogan Award on Monday night. 

The other two finalists were Stanford’s Maverick McNealy and Washington’s Cheng-Tsung Pan.

Unlike many of the other postseason awards, the Hogan takes into account both college and amateur achievements over a 12-month period.

And no player had a more impressive résumé than Rahm, the No. 1-ranked amateur in the world.

The big-hitting Spaniard has won four times this season with a sub-69 scoring average for No. 3 Arizona State. In other events worldwide, he advanced to the Round of 16 at the U.S. Amateur, captured the Spanish Amateur, won the World Amateur Team Championship and finished in the top-5 at the PGA Tour’s Phoenix Open.

Rahm is Arizona State’s first recipient of the award. He will receive an exemption into the 2016 Crowne Plaza Invitational.