RC reunion: Walker, Mahan, Kuchar grouped at Frys


NAPA, Calif. – Jimmy Walker will begin his first PGA Tour title defense alongside two men with whom he shared the Ryder Cup stage just two weeks ago.

Walker, Matt Kuchar and Hunter Mahan are the only three players in the field this week at the Frys.com Open who were a part of the American loss at Gleneagles, and the trio will play the first two rounds together beginning at 10:45 a.m. ET Thursday.

Walker notched his maiden victory at this event a year ago when it was staged at CordeValle, the first of three wins he compiled during the 2013-14 season, while Kuchar and Mahan are both making their first Frys.com appearances. The venue has shifted this year to Silverado Resort & Spa, which is hosting a PGA Tour event for the first time since 1980.

Full Frys.con Open tee times

Frys.com Open: Articles, videos and photos

Lee Westwood is the lone European Ryder Cupper in the field this week, and the Englishman will start his week alongside Ben Crane and Jonas Blixt, who won this event in 2012. They will begin off the first tee at 3:45 p.m. Thursday.

Jarrod Lyle was a late addition to the field after advancing from an 8-for-4 playoff at Monday’s open qualifier, but the Aussie will be one of the first players out as he returns to the PGA Tour for the first time since February 2012. Lyle, who has twice beaten leukemia, will be in the first group off the first tee, starting at 10:15 a.m. along with Heath Slocum and Tom Gillis.

Other notable first-round groupings (all times ET):

10:55 a.m. (No. 10 tee): Tim Clark, Hideki Matsuyama, Harris English

10:55 a.m. (No. 1 tee): Kevin Streelman, Matt Jones, Scott Stallings

11:45 a.m. (No. 10 tee): Derek Fathauer, Carlos Ortiz, Sam Saunders

3:55 p.m. (No. 1 tee): Chesson Hadley, Brandt Snedeker, Charles Howell III

4:35 p.m. (No. 1 tee): Adam Hadwin, Justin Thomas, Max Homa