Recent Nelson history favors a non-winner


IRVING, Texas—Twelve guys sit within three strokes of the lead after 54 holes at the HP Byron Nelson Championship. None of the 12 has won an event this season. Only two of them picked up a victory in 2013. You think it’s anyone’s tournament to win come Sunday afternoon?

Second-round leader Brendon Todd retained a share of the top spot with Louis Oosthuizen, who is still seeking his first career victory in the United States. Gary Woodland, one of two contenders to win last season, is tied for third with Mike Weir, who used to be one of the best players in the world but hasn’t come close to winning in six years.

Full-field scores from the HP Byron Nelson Championship

HP Byron Nelson Championship: Articles, videos and photos

You’ve got three-time major champion Padraig Harrington and ultra-talented Canadian Graham DeLaet, whom many think is the best player in the game without a victory . You’ve got emerging hotshot Morgan Hoffmann and former hotshot Charles Howell III.

You’ve got Boo Weekley, next week’s defending champion, and this bit of recent history: three of the last four Nelson champions were first-time winners, and the other (Jason Dufner) had won for the first time just three weeks earlier.

This tournament may not draw the powerhouse field it once did, but Sunday should be interesting. Maybe not pretty, but pretty interesting.