Rodgers wins Haskins Award; schedule taking shape


Patrick Rodgers added to his trophy collection Monday as he was named the winner of the Haskins Award. 

Rodgers, a three-time All-American at Stanford, has now won the Hogan, Nicklaus and Haskins awards as the player of the year for the 2013-14 season. The 21-year-old won six times this season, the most of any player in NCAA Division I. His 11 career titles matched Tiger Woods' school record at Stanford.

The winner of the Haskins Award also receives an exemption into this year’s Greenbrier Classic. That means Rodgers will have pro starts in at least five events – the Travelers Championship, Greenbrier, John Deere Classic, Reno-Tahoe Open and Wyndham Championship. It also seems likely that he will tee it up at the RBC Canadian Open. As a non-member, Rodgers is limited to seven sponsor exemptions per season.  

Other notable players who have won the Haskins Award: Woods, Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar, Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell and Russell Henley