Rory, Stacy, Langer named GWAA POYs


The Golf Writers Association of America has selected Rory McIlroy, Stacy Lewis and Bernhard Langer as its 2014 Players of the Year.

McIlroy earned top honors for the second time in three years, receiving 94 percent of the vote. 

“This award is testimony to my best year as a professional golfer and something I can aim toward winning again as I go into next season,” he said in a release. 

Like McIlroy, Lewis also won this award in 2012. This time, she earned 57 percent of the vote to move ahead of Lydia Ko and Michelle Wie

The 57-year-old Langer received 90 percent of the vote for the Senior Player of the Year after a season in which he won five times, including two majors, and the season-long Schwab Cup.  

The winners will be honored at the annual awards dinner on April 8 in Augusta, Ga.