Stanford's McNealy named Nicklaus Award winner


Maverick McNealy

DUBLIN, Ohio – Stanford sophomore Maverick McNealy has been named as the Division I recipient of the Jack Nicklaus Award, handed out annually to the top players in each division of college golf.

McNealy is the No. 2-ranked amateur in the world, and earlier this week received the Haskins Award as the top collegiate player as voted by coaches and media. This newest honor will earn him a spot in the 2016 Memorial Tournament, and McNealy will be on-site this weekend to receive the trophy from Nicklaus.

Memorial Tournament: Articles, videos and photos

Other recipients include Nova Southeastern’s Santiago Gomez (Division II), Oglethorpe’s Anthony Maccaglia (Division III), Dalton State’s Sean Elliott (NAIA) and Eastern Florida State College’s Kerry Sweeney (NJCAA).

In a new twist to the award, the five recipients will play an 18-hole qualifier Saturday at nearby Scioto Country Club, with the winner receiving an exemption into the inaugural Barbasol Championship later this summer.

Past recipients of the award include Phil Mickelson (1990-92), David Duval (1993), Tiger Woods (1996), Hunter Mahan (2003), Bill Haas (2004) and Justin Thomas (2012). Patrick Rodgers, who won the award last year, is T-5 after rounds of 69 and 66.