Three Hogan Award finalists named


Hossler, McNealy, Rahm

Beau Hossler, Jon Rahm and Maverick McNealy have been named finalists for the Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the player who performed the best in college, amateur and pro tournaments during a 12-month span.

The winner will be announced May 23 at Colonial.

A junior at Texas, Hossler is No. 1 in Golfstat’s college rankings, with an NCAA-best five wins heading into the final two events of the season. He also made the cut at the U.S. Open, earned the most points for the Americans at the Walker Cup and won the prestigious Jones Cup.

Rahm, a senior at Arizona State, won this award last year and is in position to become the first two-time recipient. He has won three times this season, including last weekend’s Pac-12 Championship, and he reached the quarterfinals of the U.S. Amateur and tied for 10th in the PGA Tour’s OHL Classic at Mayakoba last fall.

McNealy is the reigning NCAA player of the year, and he has added four more college titles this season. He has made the cut in all three of his PGA Tour starts since last summer, with his best finish a tie for 46th at Bay Hill.

Left off the ballot were Georgia senior Lee McCoy, who tied for fourth at the Valspar Championship in March and recently won the SEC Championship, and Alabama junior Robby Shelton, who finished third at the Tour’s Barbasol Championship last fall and reached the semifinals of the Western Amateur.

The winner of the award will receive a sponsor exemption into next year’s PGA Tour event at Colonial.