Tour releases nominees for Player, Rookie of the Year


The PGA Tour on Monday released its nominees for the Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year awards.

Jordan Spieth and Jason Day are, predictably, included in the POY race and joined by Rickie Fowler and Rory McIlroy.

Spieth on Sunday capped off his five-win, two-major season by taking home the Tour Championship, claiming the FedEx Cup and reclaiming the Official World Golf Ranking's No. 1 spot. He became the youngest player since Horton Smith in 1929 to win five or more events in a year, the only player in history to win the Masters and the Tour Championship in the same year, and did it all en route to a new Tour record for annual earnings at just over $12 million.

Day finally enjoyed the breakout season he had been waiting for, winning his first major at the PGA Championship and achieving his career goal of reaching world No. 1. Together, he and Spieth became the first players to each win five or more times in a season since Jack Nicklaus and Tom Weiskopf in 1973.

Fowler overcame his peer's perception of him as an overrated underachiever by winning The Players Championship in dramatic fashion, playing his last 10 holes across regulation and a four-hole playoff in 8 under. He followed it up with a postseason victory over Henrik Stenson at the Deutsche Bank earlier this month.

McIlroy managed to win twice, at the WGC-Match Play and Wells Fargo Championship, before an ankle injury derailed the latter half of his season. McIlroy this past week referred to 2015 as "a lost year" by his standards after he failed to win a major.

The Rookie of the Year race, separately, is comprised of Daniel Berger, Justin Thomas, Tony Finau and Nick Taylor. Berger led all rookies in earnings ($3 million), Thomas led all rookies in top-10s (seven), Finau posted two top-15 finishes in majors, and Taylor was the only rookie to win an event this season, doing so last fall at the Sanderson Farms Championship.

Tour members have until 5 p.m. this Thursday, Oct. 1, to cast their votes, with the winners to be announced Friday, Oct. 2.