Watch: Beef hits shot close from behind scoreboard

RSS

Where's the Beef? He's behind a scoreboard at the par-4 15th, hitting it up and over and close. Check out the highlight above, from Day 1 of the PGA Championship at Baltusrol.

Johnston explained the scenario that led to his unorthodox recovery after finishing an even-par 70 that left him five shots off the lead.

"I got a bit confused with the rule basically," Johnston said. "You can't get a drop away from the scoreboard if it's not in line with the flag. But I said, I wanted to chip it under the tree. That was my honest thing was that I wanted to chip it left of the bunker and get on the green, take two putts and get off.

"So (the rules official) goes, 'You can get a drop about a club length, but that's it.' I was saying, 'But it's still in my way.' Then he goes, 'It's got to be in line with the flag and line of sight. It's got to be both of them," he said. "I just went, 'OK, I'll chip it over the scoreboard. I have no choice, so let's get on with it.' It took me a while to understand what he was saying."