Woods, Mickelson skipping Hyundai Tournament of Champions


It no longer marks the beginning of the PGA Tour schedule, but some things haven't changed at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

Once again, the event will be without its two biggest drawing cards, as Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson will each skip the festivities despite gaining eligibility as winners during the 2013 season.

When the field list was made official at 5 p.m. ET Friday, it also failed to include the names of Graeme McDowell, Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson, each of whom had already divulged he would begin the 2014 campaign at a later date.

The field includes 30 winners from both the 2013 season and the beginning of 2013-14, including defending champion Dustin Johnson and Masters champion Adam Scott, who will make his first appearance at Kapalua since 2011.