You Oughta Know: Walker set to defend at Sony Open


Jimmy Walker is set to defend his title at the Sony Open, the first full-field event of the calendar year. Here's what You Oughta Know heading into the second stop in Hawaii. (Stats courtesy Golf Channel research department):

• Walker is trying to become the first player to win three straight at the Sony Open. Three players – Hubert Green (1980), Corey Pavin (1988) and Ernie Els (2005) – were unable to complete the three-peat. Els came the closest, finishing runner-up to Vijay Singh by one stroke. The last player to win a PGA Tour stop three consecutive times was Steve Stricker at the John Deere Classic (2009-2011).

• Last year, Walker was coming off a playoff loss to Patrick Reed at Kapalua. Walker made sure there wouldn't be a playoff at the Sony by closing with a 62 and a 63. He defeated Scott Piercy by nine strokes to successfully defend his title and earn his fourth career PGA Tour win.

• In his two wins, Walker was a combined 40 under par, 13 shots better than any other player in that span.

Sony Open in Hawaii: Articles, photos and videos

Adam Scott is playing his first competitive tournament since the ban on anchored putting began. He was winless in 2015, his first year without a win worldwide since 2000.

• Waialae CC was the second-easiest par 70 on the PGA Tour last season. It also had the easiest par 5s last season by field average.

• There have been three wire-to-wire winners (with no ties) of the Sony Open – Howard Twitty (1993), Paul Azinger (2000), and K.J. Choi (2008).