Z. Johnson accepts fate after rules infraction

RSS

Zach Johnson's third shot at the 13th hole on Friday found Rae's Creek, and then so did his club.

While attempting to play his partially submerged ball, Johnson clipped the water while taking his club back, thus - albeit unintentionally - grounding it in the hazard.

The two-shot penalty led to a triple bogey-8 and later left the 2007 Masters champion exactly two shots off the cut line, at 8-over 152 for the week.

Friday night, Johnson accepted his fate in a string of tweets: