×
Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
Free
install

GFC Search

 

Donald assessed 2-stroke penalty in Round 1

RSS

AUGUSTA, Ga. - Luke Donald was assessed a two-stroke penalty midway through his round on Thursday at Augusta National for grounding his club in a hazard.

Donald played his third shot from a greenside bunker on No. 9 and left his attempt in the bunker. Before hitting his third shot he touched the ground in the bunker with his club, violating Rule 13-4.

The Englishman made a quadruple bogey-8 on the ninth and signed for a 79.


Scoring for the 78th Masters Tournament

Masters Tournament: Articles, videos and photos


"Pretty dumb mistake," Donald tweeted after his round. "I can accept the odd poor shot but making a mistake like that is pretty frustrating and so unlike me.

"Oh well, nothing I can do about it now, brush it off and try and make a bunch of birdies tomorrow."