Recent history not on Jones' side at Augusta


HUMBLE, Texas – Matt Jones will have to reverse recent history if he wants to contend in his Masters debut.

Only one Houston Open winner since 2007 has gone on to finish in the top 10 at Augusta – Anthony Kim, who finished third at the 2010 Masters.

From 2007-2013, Adam Scott (T-27), Johnson Wagner (T-36), Paul Casey (T-20), Phil Mickelson (T-27), Hunter Mahan (T-12) and D.A. Points (T-38) each finished 12th or worse in the year’s first major.

“I’m happy just to be there,” Jones said. “We’ll see what happens. I’ve watched a lot of golf on TV at the Masters. You get a little idea; nothing like playing it. So I’ll play a practice round hopefully on Tuesday and Wednesday and get an idea for the course.”