Oakmont CC to host ninth US Open in 16


Bookmark and Share
USGAFAR HILLS, N.J. ' Oakmont (Pa.) Country Club has been selected by the U.S. Golf Association as the site of the 2016 U.S. Open Championship, marking a record ninth time the venerable layout will host the national championship. The dates are June 13-19.
Designed by Henry C. Fownes and opened in 1903, Oakmont Country Club has been the site of 14 previous USGA championships, the most recent in 2007 when Angel Cabrera held off Tiger Woods and Jim Furyk to win the U.S. Open. In 2010, the Pittsburgh-area club will be the site of the U.S. Womens Open, July 5-11.
The USGA is extremely pleased to continue our long-standing relationship with Oakmont Country Club, said USGA President Jim Vernon. As evident from the results of the 2007 championship, the course is a wonderful and complete test of golf. Equally important is the fact that since the early 1900s, Oakmont has been a proud supporter of the game. The USGA remains grateful that we have been invited back to conduct our 16th championship, which includes our recent visits in 2003 for the U.S. Amateur and in 2007 for the U.S. Open, as well as next years U.S. Womens Open.
The nations first golf course to be recognized as a National Historic Landmark, Oakmont has been the site of the crowning of these U.S. Open champions: Tommy Armour (1927); Sam Parks Jr. (1935); Ben Hogan (1953); Jack Nicklaus (1962); Johnny Miller (1973); Larry Nelson (1983); Ernie Els (1994) and Angel Cabrera (2007).
In addition to hosting more U.S. Opens than any other venue, Oakmont has served as the site for six other USGA championships: the U.S. Amateur in 1919, 1925, 1938, 1969 and 2003, and the U.S. Womens Open in 1992.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage -2009 U.S. Open
  • First- and Second-Round Tee Times
  • Sectional Qualifying results
  • Bethpage Black Ballpark