A timeline of the Open


Follow the 137th Open Championship all week on GOLF CHANNEL. Click for our TV schedule!
Open ChampionshipThe following is a timeline of the Open Championship, dating all the way back to 1860.
1860: Willie Park, Sr. defeats Old Tom Morris to win the first Open Championship at Prestwick.
1862: Old Tom Morris wins his second consecutive Open Championship by a record 13 shots over Willie Park, Sr. This margin of victory would stand as the all time major championship record until Tiger Woods wins the 2000 U.S. Open by 15 shots.
1867: Old Tom Morris sets another record by becoming the championships oldest winner (still to this date) at 46 years, 99 days.
1868: Young Tom Morris becomes the youngest player (still to this date) to win The Open at 17 years, 5 months, 8 days.
1873: Tom Kidd ends Young Tom Morris four-year reign, also becoming the first winner at St. Andrews ' the first time the event was contested outside of Prestwick.
1895: The Open is extended to 72 holes for the very first time as defending champion J.H. Taylor wins at St. Andrews. The 72 holes are played over two days.
1914: Harry Vardon wins his record setting sixth Open Championship by three shots over J.H. Taylor at Prestwick. The record has not yet been matched.
1915-1919: No Open Championship is played due to World War I.
1926: After finishing his third round with a two-stroke lead, Bobby Jones leaves Royal Lytham & St. Annes for lunch. When he returns, he loses his competitors badge and is not allowed to re-enter the course. In order to continue to play, he buys a gallery admission ticket and wins his first Open.
1930: Bobby Jones wins his third and final Open at Royal Liverpool during a year in which he won the Grand Slam of his era- the British Amateur and Open and the U.S. Amateur and Open. He is the last amateur to win The Open.
1940- 1945: No Open Championship is played due to World War II.
1946: Unhappy with the course condition of St. Andrews, Sam Snead wins his first and only Open Championship anyways by four strokes.
1954: Australian Peter Thompson wins his first of three consecutive Opens at Royal Birkdale by tapping in a 10-inch putt for the win with the back of his putter, surprising announcers and the gallery.
1961: Arnold Palmer wins his first of two consecutive Opens with a famous 6-iron shot from behind a bush at the 15th hole of Royal Birkdale. He wins by one stroke.
1970: Hoping to win his first Open, Doug Sanders misses a two-and-a-half foot putt on the final hole to win at St. Andrews. He loses to Nicklaus the next day in a playoff.
1977: In what is now known as the Duel in the Sun, Tom Watson defeats Jack Nicklaus by one stroke in an epic battle by shooting 65 in the last two rounds at Turnberry. Watson finishes 11 shots ahead of third-place finisher Hubert Green.
1986: Greg Norman wins his first major championship with a five stroke victory over Gordon Brand at Turnberry. Norman shoots a major championship record 63 during the second round.
1990: Nick Faldo sets the championships record under par score by finishing the championship at 18 under par. Faldo cruises to a five stroke victory over Payne Stewart and Mark McNulty at St. Andrews.
1995: John Daly reaches his potential with his second major championship victory at St. Andrews. He is not able to hold the claret jug until he beats Italys Constantino Rocca in a four-hole playoff. Rocca holes a 65 foot putt to tie Daly on the 18th hole.
1999: Jean Van de Velde arrives to the final hole of Carnoustie with a three shot lead and needs only a double bogey six to win The Open. However, he has to make a seven-foot putt for a triple bogey seven in order to tie Paul Lawrie and Justin Leonard, after struggling to reach the green in six shots. Lawrie wins the playoff after one of the most shocking finishes in Open Championship history.
2000: Tiger Woods completes the career grand slam at the age of 24 to become only the fifth player in golf history to accomplish the feat. Woods breaks Nick Faldos record under par score at The Open by finishing at 19 under par for an eight shot victory over Ernie Els and Thomas Bjorn at St. Andrews.
2003: One of the most unpredictable Open champions of all time, Ben Curtis defeats Thomas Bjorn and Vijay Singh by one shot and Davis Love III and Tiger Woods by two at Royal St. Georges. Coming into The Open, Curtis is ranked 396th in the world rankings and is playing in only his first major championship. The championship is also remembered for Bjorns mishap at the par-three 16th, after hitting three bunker shots for a double bogey.
2006: Tiger Woods wins an emotional Open Championship by two shots over Chris DiMarco after the death of his father just months earlier. Woods plays precise golf on the links of Royal Liverpool Golf Club, by mostly teeing off with irons.
2007 Last year, Padraig Harrington became the first Irishman to win The Open since Fred Daly in 1947. Harrington defeats Sergio Garcia in a playoff at Carnoustie Golf Links after Garcia misses his par putt in regulation for the outright victory.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Open Championship
  • GOLF CHANNEL Airtimes