Watch List Announced for 2003 Hogan Award


NORMAN, Okla. ' The 'watch list' for the 2003 Ben Hogan Award, pesented annually to the top mens NCAA Division I, II or III or NAIA golfer, has begun.
The list includes 20 golfers, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months. Included are such players as 2002 Hogan Award recipient D.J. Trahan of Clemson, U.S. Amateur champion Ricky Barnes of Arizona and 2002 Arnold Palmer Award winners Troy Matteson of Georgia Tech and Chico States J.J. Jakovac.
Obviously, the list represents the finest players across the country at all levels of college golf, said Gregg Grost, executive director of the Golf Coaches Association of America. I feel its significant that we see individuals from all areas of the country on the list as well as international players. Its important to note that the Hogan Award winner does not necessarily have to come from individuals on this list; however, at this time the committee feels that this group has stepped to the front during the past nine months.
The Hogan Award selection committee will select 10 semi-finalists on April 11 and name five finalists on April 25. The winner of the Hogan Award will be announced on May 9 and the presentation banquet will be held at Colonial Country Club on May 19, the Monday prior to the Bank of America Colonial.
2003 Ben Hogan Award Watch List
(in alphabetical order)
Yasin Ali, Oklahoma City
Ricky Barnes, Arizona
Dustin Bray, North Carolina
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
J.J. Jakovac, Chico State
Tom Johnson, Northwestern
James Lepp, Illinois
Brock Mackenzie, Washington
Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State
Troy Matteson, Georgia Tech
Ryan Moore, UNLV
Chris Nallen, Arizona
Simon Nash, Minnesota
Adam Rubinson, TCU
Brandt Snedeker, Vanderbilt
Andrew Svoboda, St. Johns
D.J. Trahan, Clemson
Camilo Villegas, Florida
Justin Walters, NC State
Nick Watney, Fresno State
Oliver Wilson, Augusta State