Argentineans Head Memphis Field


Argentineans Jose Coceres and Angel Cabrera will be testing their games at the FedEx St. Jude Classic in Memphis, Tenn., this week prior to the U.S. Open next week. A number of European Tour members who also play the American tour will also be in action.
Among the others who will play in Memphis are Emanuele Canonica, Bernhard Langer, Jose Maria Olazabal, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Per-Ulrik Johansson and Jean Van de Velde.
Notah Begay III, out with injuries much of the year, will try to defend the title he won here in 2000. Last year Begay bounced back from a January arrest for drunk driving with his third career victory at the 2000 FedEx St. Jude Classic.
One shot behind third-round leader Bob May heading into Sunday's final round, the Native American with the ambidextrous putting style carded a two-under 69 to clip May and Chris DiMarco by a single stroke. Begay, who grabbed some media attention away from his fellow Stanford teammate Tiger Woods with a win at the Greater Hartford Open the following week, clinched the victory in Memphis with a two-putt par from five feet on the final hole.
Both May and DiMarco had chances to force a playoff, but May missed a birdie try from eight feet and DiMarco's bid slipped by from 25 feet. Begay and DiMarco were the lone players in the field to post all four rounds in the 60s.
Begay has struggled so far in 2001, making just two cuts in seven events. His best finish is 32nd at the Mercedes Championships back in January.
- Lee Trevino was the last player to win back-to-back titles at this event (1971-72).
- Al Geiberger became the first player in PGA Tour history to break the 60 barrier when he posted a second-round 59 on his way to winning this event at Memphis' Colonial Country Club in 1977.
- Nick Price, a two-time winner of the St. Jude Classic, has posted 17 rounds under par at the TPC at Southwind in his last 21 rounds. Price tied for 25th last year.
- Hal Sutton owns the record for the biggest comeback in tournament history, when he came from eight shots down to win in 1985.
- Price and Dave Hill are the only players to win this event wire- to-wire. Hill accomplished the feat in 1967 and Price in 1998. Price (2), Trevino (3) and Hill (4) are the only multiple winners of the tournament.
- Twenty of the last 31 champions have held at least a share of the lead heading into the final round, although Begay became the 18th player to come from behind and win this tournament. Nine of the last 11 winners of this event have posted all four rounds under par, with the lone exceptions Tom Kite (1990) and Jim Gallagher, Jr. (1995).
- This is the 13th straight year that the tournament has been held at the Southwind layout. The golf course features eight lakes and three streams that affect play on 11 holes.
- The purse was increased $500,000 from last year to $3.5 million, with a first-place prize of $630,000.
- Since 1986, the tournament has raised over $11.5 million for the St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.