Clean Sweep for Boilermakers


Courtesy of
NCAAWEST LAFAYTTE, Ind. - The Purdue women's golf team racked up every major honor handed out at the 2006 Big Ten Championships on Sunday.
Following its first conference crown since 2000, senior Onnarin Sattayabanphot was named the Big Ten Player of the Year. Sattayabanphot placed in the top 13 in all 10 tournaments during the 2005-06 season. She averaged a team-best 73.9 strokes per round. Sattayabanphot set the tone for the Boilermakers' season by winning the Badger Invitational in September, the first event of the fall. She becomes the second Boilermaker to earn conference player of the year honors. Stacy Orschell earned top honors in 2000.
In addition, Sattayabanphot was named first-team All-Big Ten for the second-straight season. She was also named Purdue's Sportsmanship Award honoree, handed out to one member of each team.
Joining Sattayabanphot on the All-Big Ten First Team were freshmen Maria Hernandez and Christel Boeljon. Hernandez averaged 74.3 strokes per round and captured first place at the Badger Invitational in the fall. She tied for second at the conference championships on Sunday. Boeljon averaged 74.1 strokes per outings and won the Landfall Tradition in the fall.
Boeljon was also named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. She is the second-straight Boilermaker to earn the award and third overall. Kari Damron won the honor in 2000 and current sophomore Whitney Frykman earned the distinction in 2005.
For the second time in eight years, head coach Devon Brouse earned Big Ten Coach of the Year honors. Brouse also was named the conference's top mentor in 2000. Brouse has guided eight teams to conference championships during his collegiate coaching career.
Junior Myrte Eikenaar was named to the All-Big Ten Second Team after finishing eighth at the Big Ten Championships. She earned first-team honors as a sophomore.
Purdue now awaits word on selection to the NCAA Women's Golf Championships. The Boilermakers will be selected to one of three regionals, after earning the conference's automatic bid. The top 10 teams from each regional advance to the NCAA Women's Golf Championships. The Boilermakers have advance to the last six-straight championships.
Related Links:
  • College Central Home