Clemsons Trahan Wins Ben Hogan Award


Clemson junior D.J. Trahan has been selected to receive the 2002 Ben Hogan Award as the nation's top male college golfer. The award is presented by the Friends of Golf and Colonial Country Club in association with the Golf Coaches Association of America.
Trahan's year included wins at the Carpet Classic and the Jerry Pate Invitational along with three second-place finishes.
Trahan's resume includes winning the South Carolina Amateur and representing the United States in the Walker Cup.
Trahan will receive the award at a dinner kicking off the week of the MasterCard Colonial.
Other nominees included Wake Forest sophomore Bill Haas, Georgia sophomore Ryan Hybl, Oklahoma State sophomore Hunter Mahan, Georgia Tech junior Troy Matteson, Alabama-Birmingham junior Graeme McDowell, Arizona State sophomore Chez Reavie, Florida sophomore Camilo Villegas, Fresno State junior Nick Watney and Pursue senior Lee Williamson.
Previous Ben Hogan Award recipients:
2001- Wil Collins (New Mexico)
2000- Chris James (Oklahoma)
1999- Steve Friesen (Nebraska)
1998- Jamie Broce (Ball State)
1997- Jeff Fahrenbruch (Texas)
1996- Mark Wilson (North Carolina)
1995- Trip Kuehne (Oklahoma State)
1994- William Blackman (Auburn)
1993- Marten Olander (Alabama)
1992- Jon Lindquist (Gustavus Adolphus College)
1991- Brian Bridges (Kent State)
1990- Kevin Wentworth (Oklahoma State)
More Golf Headlines