Europeans Chasing Ryder Cup Points


European TourIn the midst of a month long stretch away from continental Europe, the European Tour rolls into Singapore for this week's Singapore Masters at Laguna.
And though it's a long way from home for many of the regular tour members, Ryder Cup points earned in the event could in turn go a long way towards securing a spot on the 2006 squad.
Several players currently holding down one of Europe's 10 automatic spots for the Ryder Cup are in Singapore to help bolster their standings, including defending champion Nick Dougherty and Paul Broadhurst.
The leading five points-earners from the Ryder Cup World Points List (currently, in order - Henrik Stenson, Sergio Garcia, Colin Montgomerie, Jose Maria Olazabal and David Howell) will qualify for The 2006 European Ryder Cup Team.
The leading five players, not otherwise qualified from the World Points List, are chosen from the European Points List. From that list, Paul McGinley, Kenneth Ferrie, Paul Casey, Dougherty and Paul Broadhurst would qualify.
Joining Dougherty and Broadhurst in Singapore are a trio of players looking to improve their positions as the countdown begins to the biennial matches this September in Ireland.
Simon Dyson, winner of the past week's Indonesian Open, is set to go alongside Anders Hansen and Niclas Fasth, who sit in the 13th and 16th spots on the points list. With his victory, Dyson moved up to 24th.
Though only in its sixth year, the Singapore Masters has made a name for itself with its diverse list of winners.
World No. 2 Vijay Singh won the inaugural event in 2001, and was followed by Arjun Atwal in 2002, who made history by becoming the first player from India to win a European Tour event.
In 2003, history was made once again as Zhang Lian Wei became the first Chinese player to win on the European Tour. Wei birdied the final hole to beat Ernie Els by a stroke.
Eight-time Order of Merit winner Colin Montgomerie visited the winner's circle in 2004 and was ultimately denied a repeat victory by Dougherty last year.
The Golf Channel will broadcast all four rounds beginning Thursday at 9 a.m. (ET).
Related Links:
  • European Points List
  • World Points List
  • Full Coverage - Singapore Masters at Laguna
  • Golf Channel Airtimes