Floyd Defends Seniors Final Major


Raymond Floyd became the oldest player to win a major championship on the Senior PGA Tour when he captured last years Ford Senior Players Championship at the age of 58.
The victory was Floyds first in four years. In fact, his previous win came at this very event in 1996.
Floyd started the final round six strokes back at the Tournament Players Club of Michigan, but birdied three of his final four holes for a Sunday 66 and a one-stroke win over Larry Nelson and Dana Quigley.
It is always fun and unique to come back somewhere and think about the winning experience you had, said Floyd at the tournaments media day in April. When I get up each day I never know how I am going to feel or how I am going to play. Coming down the stretch there, though, I felt comfortable again, just like I had in the past.
Floyds winning total in Dearborn, Mich., was 15-under-par 273. Two years ago, Hale Irwin shot 267, as did Gil Morgan in 1998.
This year, however, things may be a bit different.
Course designer Jack Nicklaus, who fell short in winning the U.S. Senior Open two weeks ago, was asked by tournament officials to make his creation a little more difficult.
Nicklaus was more than happy to oblige; after all, the tours top names love a tougher test of golf.
Narrowing proved to be the operative word. Half of the holes have all been tightened in some fashion to make the course harder.
Nicklaus won the 1990 edition of this championship, the year before the tournament moved to the TPC of Michigan.
The Ford Senior Players is the final major on the 2001 Senior PGA Tour calendar. Doug Tewell won the Tradition. Tom Watson won the Senior PGA Championship. And Bruce Fleisher claimed the U.S. Senior Open trophy.
Full field and tee time for the Ford Senior Players Championship