GBI Announces Walker Cup Team


Northwestern University Senior Luke Donald headlines the newly named Walker Cup squad that will represent Great Britain and Ireland in this August's matches in Sea Island, Ga. The GB & I squad will be trying to defend the title they secured 15 - 9 in Nairn, Scotland in 1999.
Donald will be joined by his 1999 teammate Gary Wolstenholme, who will be making his fourth straight Walker Cup appearance. The duo is the only reminder of that 10-man team.
Donald and Wolstenholme will be joined by British Amateur Champion Michael Hoey, Steven O'Hara, Nick Dougherty, Jamie Elson, Richard McEvoy, Graeme McDowell, Nigel Edwards and Marc Warren.
'We have a very solid looking team with a nucleus of players who have international experience at the highest level,' said selection chairman Peter Benka.
The team will be captained by two-time British Amateur champion and five-time Walker Cup member Peter McEvoy.
More Golf News