Gore Returns to Nationwide Tour


Nationwide TourThe magic number is five. That's how many events remain before the season-ending Nationwide Tour Championship. The top 60 players on the money list following the Miccosukee Championship get a chance to compete in the final event of the season in efforts to gain their PGA Tour cards.
Currently, Cliff Kresge holds down the 60th spot; however, he is just $55 ahead of David Morland IV. Less than $8,000 separates Scott Gardiner in the 65th position from Kresge.
This week's event is one of the four original venues on the tour and is one of four events offering a purse of $650,000 or more with a first-place prize of $117,000.
While their are plenty of storylines floating around, none carry the weight -- no pun intended -- of the Jason Gore story.
Gore, who won this event in 2002, is back -- even though he doesn't need to be. Gore won three times this year to earn a 'battlefield promotion' to the PGA Tour. He then won in the big leagues just last week, at the 84 Lumber Classic.
Instead of competing in this week's Valero Texas Open, or taking a week off to celebrate his most recent triumph, Gore is playing once again on the 'developmental' circuit, having received a special exemption from PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem to do so.
Gore is currently second on the Nationwide money list, with over $350,000. He trails leader Troy Matteson, who won last week for the second time this season, by just under $86,000.
Gore and Matteson teamed earlier this week in the Kraft/Nabisco Shoot-out at the Hillcrest Country Club. They lost to the team of Annika Sorenstam and Paula Creamer.
Thirteen of the last 14 winners of this event have all found a place on the PGA Tour. Only last year's champion, Scott Gump, did not make the jump and he will defend his title this week. Gump shot a 3-under 68 in the final round last year to come from behind and win the Boise Open. He finished at 14-under-par 270 and won by two over Michael Long and Jimmy Walker at Hillcrest Country Club. Gump tallied his third win on the Nationwide Tour, but his first since the 1994 Greater Greenville Classic.
The 10-year gap between victories on tour established a new record for most years between wins. Dick Mast held the old record of nine years, three months and 23 days.
There have been only two playoffs in the 15-year history of the tournament. The first one came in 1991 when Russell Beiersdorf defeated Rich Parker with a par on the third extra hole. Keith Fergus beat Bill Murchison with a par on the second extra hole in 1994. In the 15-year history of the event, there has not been an outright, wire-to-wire winner in Boise.
Hillcrest Country Club has hosted this event since its inception in 1990.
Related links:
  • Scoring - Albertsons Boise Open
  • Full Coverage - Albertsons Boise Open
    Information from The Sports Network was used in this article