Mackenzie Nominated to Renew USGA Presidency


Reed K. Mackenzie of Chaska, Minn., has been nominated to serve a second one-year term as president of the United States Golf Association.
The election of officers and the full 15-member USGA Executive Committee will take place on Feb. 1, 2003, at the USGAs annual meeting in San Diego, Calif. Mackenzie will again lead the professional staff and nearly 1,400 volunteers who serve on 30 committees.
Mackenzie, 60, who served four years as vice president and a year each as treasurer and secretary, first became involved in USGA affairs with the Junior Amateur Championship Committee in 1977. He has been a member of the Executive Committee since January 1992, the year after he served as general chairman for the U.S. Open at his home course of Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska.

Mackenzie has been active as a rules official since becoming a USGA volunteer, and has officiated at every U.S. Open since 1978. In all, he has been a rules official at nearly 70 USGA championships. He has been a member of Hazeltine since 1965 and served as club president from 1981'1984. He has been club champion four times. He was president of the Minnesota Golf Association from 1988'1990, and his wife, Jane, was president of the Minnesota Womens Golf Association in 1988. He has been a director for the MGA since 1978.
Professionally, Mackenzie is president of the Minneapolis law firm of Mackenzie & Hallberg, P.A.
The other nominated officers of the Executive Committee are Fred S. Ridley of Tampa, Fla., and Walter W. Driver Jr. of Atlanta, Ga., as vice presidents; Eric J. Gleacher of New York, N.Y., as secretary; and Paul D. Caruso Jr., of Helena, Mont., as treasurer.
Six others were renominated for the Executive Committee, while three individuals have been nominated for a first term. Returning members include Craig Ammerman of Cherry Hill, N.J.; Dr. Lewis H. Blakey of Alexandria, Va.; Emily R. (Missy) Crisp of Mill Neck, N.Y.; Mary Bea Porter-King of Kapaa, Hawaii; James E. Reinhart of Mequon, Wis.; and Bruce C. Richards of Bellevue, Wash.
Additionally, John W. Vardaman of Washington, D.C., moves from his past role as general counsel to a member of the Committee.

James T. Bunch of Denver, Colo., Cameron Jay Rains of La Mesa, Calif., and James F. Vernon of Pasadena, Calif., have been newly nominated to serve one-year terms on the Executive Committee.
In addition, Fredric C. Nelson of San Francisco, Calif., has been newly nominated to serve as general counsel to the Committee.