Major Winners Gather for Senior Slam


The four 2001 Senior PGA Tour major winners gather in St. Augustine, Fla., for the annual Senior Slam. Allen Doyle, Bruce Fleisher, Tom Watson and Doug Tewell will compete for the $300,000 first-place prize on The Slammer & The Squire course at the World Golf Village. Doyle won the Ford Senior Players Championship. Fleisher captured the U.S. Senior Open. Watson was triumphant in the Senior PGA Championship. And Tewell won The Tradition. Tewell is the only player with past Senior Slam experience, having qualified last year by winning the Senior PGA Championship. Play will commence Saturday, with a two-day, 36-hole stroke-play format.Hale Irwin won last year's competition at Our Lucaya Resort on Grand Bahama Island.