McCarron Faxon Repeat at Shootout


Scott McCarron and Brad Faxon used a late surge to become the first repeat winners in the 13-year history of the Franklin Templeton Shootout.
Playing a scramble format, McCarron rolled in a 30-foot eagle putt at No. 17 and Faxon made a 25-foot birdie on No. 18, as the duo finished at 33-under-par; two strokes lower than John Daly and Frank Lickliter.
Faxon and McCarron started the day one shot back of Lickliter and Daly, but overcame the deficit with a superb 15-under 57 at the Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Fla. ' two strokes higher than the 18-hole tournament record.
Each earned $225,000.
'It feels fantastic,' Faxon said. 'I can't think of a better way to end the year.'
The friendly competition wasnt without controversy. With the two teams tied at 30-under on the par-3 16th, both Lickliter and Daly missed the green long. The team chose Lickliters ball, which was sitting in the pine straw where fans had been standing. Under the rules, Lickliter and Daly were allowed a drop within one club length, but no closer to the hole.
As that was taking place, Faxon walked over to view the drop and was greeted by Lickliter shooing him away with his hand. Lickliter then used an expletive in telling Faxon to go back to his ball.
Laughs were quickly cast aside and both teams eventually made pars on the hole.
When the final putt fell on No. 18, both teams shook hands without much conversation.
'It was just the heat of the battle,' Faxon said.
Tournament host Greg Norman partnered with Steve Elkington to finish last in the 12-man team event. They ended at 16-under. Norman then flew to St. Augustine to be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.
Full-field scores from Franklin Templeton Shootout