Mens NCAA Finals Set


Powerhouse Arizona State cruised to the NCAA Mens West Regional title, while East Tennessee State capture the crown in the East and a trio of teams topped the West.
NCAA Mens Finals logo
In all, 30 teams qualified for the NCAA Finals, which will take place May 30 ' June 2 at Duke University Golf Club in Durham, NC.
East Regional
The Duke Blue Devils will not be among those competing for the team championship. The Devils lost to the University of Mississippi in a one-hole playoff in the East Regional in Williamsburg, Va.
East Tennessee State was the Beast of the East with a 36-under-par 828 team total. They finished eight shots in front of North Carolina State.
Also qualifying from the East were Florida, Clemson, Georgia, Virginia Tech, Georgia Tech, Georgia Southern and the University of Alabama-Birmingham.
Camilo Villegas, a freshman from Florida, shot a 15-under-par 201 to take home the medallist honors. He finished a two shots clear of Georgia Tech sensation Bryce Molder.
All those who qualified via their teams will compete for the individual title in Durham, as will the low two players in the regionals from non-qualifying teams. Kirk Satterfield of Furman and Dukes Leif Olson earned a trip to the national championship.
West Regional
Arizona State ran away with the title in the West Regional in Corvallis, Ore. At 12-under-par 852, the Sun Devils finished 15 shots ahead of rival Arizona.
University of California at Irvine, Pacific University, South Carolina, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, Wake Forest and Washington also advanced into the finals.
South Carolinas Kyle Thompson and Arizona States Matt Jones shared medallist honors. Both shot 8-under-par 208s.
Nick Watney of Fresno State and Charleton Dechert of Oral Roberts were the top two players from non-qualifying teams.
Central Regional
Kent State, Oklahoma and Purdue shared first place in the regional that included 18 of the nations top 50 teams. The three teams finished the three-day tournament in Stillwater, Okla., at 19-over-par 883.
The College of Charleston, Minnesota, Oklahoma State, Augusta State, Toledo, Southern Methodist University and Houston also advanced into the finals.
Texas, who entered the event fifth in the nation, failed to qualify. However, Longhorn John Klauk was the top individual and will compete for the national championship. Klauk shot 4-under-par 212. Kansas Andy Stewart also qualified with a 2-under-par 214.