NGCA Announces Awards


CHICAGO, Illinois -- The National Golf Coaches Association announced the year-end student-athlete and coaches awards for Division I Womens College Golf. Most winners were recognized at the NGCA Awards Banquets held in Auburn, Alabama, on Friday evening, May 21.
2004 NGCA Division I Player of the Year
Elizabeth Janangelo ' Duke University

2004 Dinah Shore Trophy Award
Adrienne Gautreaux - University of South Carolina

2004 Edith Cummings Munson Golf Award
Kallin Downs - New Mexico

2004 NGCA Division I Softspikes Freshman of the Year
Brittany Lang ' Duke University

2004 NGCA Division I National Coach of the Year
Carrie Forsyth ' UCLA

2004 NGCA Division I Regional Coaches of the Year
East Region: Dan Brooks ' Duke University
Central Region: Therese Hession ' The Ohio State University
West Region: Carrie Forsyth - UCLA

2004 NGCA Division I All-American Teams

1st Team
Erica Blasberg - University of Arizona
Meaghan Francella - University of North Carolina
Allison Hanna - The Ohio State University
Sarah Huarte - University of California Berkeley
Elizabeth Janangelo - Duke University
Brittany Lang - Duke University
Susie Mathews - UCLA
Charlotte Mayorkas - UCLA
Virada Nirapathpongporn - Duke University
Ashley Prange - University of North Carolina
Kim Welsh - Washington State University
May Wood - Vanderbilt University

2nd Team
Irene Cho - University of Southern California
Nicole Hage ' Auburn University
Leigh Anne Hardin ' Duke University
Sarah Johnston - Furman University
Hanna Jun ' UCLA
Carolina Llano ' Pepperdine University
Paige MacKenzie ' University of Washington
Sunny Oh ' UNLV
Brooke Tull ' Texas Christian University
Kristen White - The Ohio State University

Honorable Mention
Elizabeth Allen - California State Northridge University
Sofie Anderson - University of California Berkeley
Aimee Cho - University of Florida
Kallin Downs ' University of New Mexico
Allison Fouch - Michigan State University
Ashley Gomes - San Jose State University
Anna Grzebien ' Duke University
Sarah Jacobs ' Vanderbilt University
Malinda Johnson ' University of Wisconsin
Sung Ea Lee - University of Washington
Lisa Meldrum ' University of Oklahoma
Krystal Shearer ' UCLA
Jessica Shepley ' University of Tennessee
Sophia Sheridan - University of California Berkeley
Karin Sjodin - Oklahoma State University
Jenny Suh ' Furman University
Mallory Underwood - Oklahoma State University

The National Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The NGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the NGCA represents over 325 programs throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.