Pair Win Golf Writers Awards


Pro golfer Jeff Julian and columnist Dave Anderson of The New York Times were named Friday as winners of two awards given out annually by the Golf Writers Association of America.The Annual GWAA Awards Dinner, to be held April 9 in Augusta, Ga., will also honor Tiger Woods, Annika Sorenstam and Hale Irwin, as players of the year on their respective tours.

Julian, who played in seven PGA Tour events in 2002, won the Ben Hogan Award, which is given annually to an individual who has continued to be active in golf despite a physical handicap or serious illness.
Diagnosed with the terminal disease ALS, known by most as Lou Gehrig's disease, Julian won the 1997 Dominion Open, on what is now called the Nationwide Tour. He played in seven events on sponsor's exemptions in 2002, but unfortunately had to recently withdraw after the second round of the PGA Tour Q-School.
Past Ben Hogan award winners include Casey Martin, Paul Azinger, Jose Maria Olazabal and Lee Trevino.
Anderson, a contributing writer at Golf Digest and a writer for the New York Times, won the William D. Richardson Award, which is given annually to recognize an individual who has consistently made an outstanding contribution to golf.
Awards are nothing new to Anderson, who won the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for distinguished sports commentary, won the 1998 PGA of Americas Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Award and also was given the 1994 Red Smith Award. He is also a member of the N.Y. Sports Hall of Fame and the National Sportswriters and Sports Broadcasters Hall of Fame.
A few former winners of the Richardson Award are Arnold Palmer, Nancy Lopez, Judy Rankin, Ely Callaway, Ben Hogan, President Dwight Eisenhower and Ben Crenshaw.