Palmer Chosen for Award by GWAA


Arnold Palmer has been chosen the Jim Murray/ASAP award winner by the Golf Writers Association of America for his remarkable decades-long relationship with writers and broadcasters.
The Golf Channels Renton Laidlaw has been honored with the PGA of Americas Lifetime Achievement in Journalism award. Laidlaw, a longtime golf writer who became the Golf Channels voice of the European Tour when the Golf Channel began its telecasts in 1995, is the first European journalist to win the PGAs award.
New York Times columnist Dave Anderson and former PGA Tour pro Jeff Julian are also being honored, Anderson as the William P. Richardson award winner and Julian the Ben Hogan award winner.
Anderson, a New York Times columnist since 1971, won the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for distinguished sports commentary and was the 98 PGA Lifetime Achievement honoree. Julian has battled ALS since being diagnosed in 2001, but played in seven events last year and continues to work for awareness of the wasting disease.
They will be honored, along with the GWAA players of the year and GWAA writing contest winners, at the 2003 GWAA awards dinner April 9 in Augusta, Ga.