Southern Hills to Host 2007 PGA


PGA of AmericaPALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. ' Southern Hills Country Club of Tulsa, Okla., the host of six previous major championships, has been selected as the site of the 89th PGA Championship in August 2007, PGA of America officials have announced.
Southern Hills will become the first course to host four PGA Championships. Dave Stockton won in 1970, edging Bob Murphy and Arnold Palmer by two shots. Ray Floyd led from start to finish in his three-shot victory in 1982, and Nick Price cruised to his second PGA crown in three years in 1994.
The club also was the site of three U.S. Open Championships, in 1958, 1977 and 2001, and has hosted five significant national championships - the 1946 U.S. Women's Amateur, 1953 U.S. Junior Amateur, 1961 U.S. Senior Amateur, 1965 U.S. Amateur and the 1987 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur.
Designed by Perry Maxwell in 1936, the par-71, 7,016-yard Southern Hills layout is ranked No. 15 among Golf Digest's 'America's 100 Greatest Golf Courses.'
'Southern Hills Country Club has a rich history as one of our nation's most respected sites for major championship golf,' said PGA of America President Jack Connelly. 'Our previous three PGA Championships at Southern Hills have each produced some of the most memorable moments in golf.'
The following sites will host future PGA Championships:
2002: Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minn.
2003: Oak Hill Country Club, Rochester, N.Y.
2004: Whistling Straits, Kohler, Wis.
2005: Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, N.J.
2006: Medinah Country Club, Medinah, Ill.
2007: Southern Hills Country Club, Tulsa, Okla.
2008: Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
2009: Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minn.
2010: Sahalee Country Club, Redmond, Wash.
2011: The Atlanta Athletic Club, Duluth, Ga.
Full coverage of the PGA Championship