Tavistock Cup Reduced to One Day


04 Tavistock CupIncessant rain delays at The Players Championship have forced the reduction of play at the Tavistock Cup.
The event, which features members of Orlando enclaves Lake Nona Golf and Country Club and Isleworth Country Club, will now be contested on Tuesday at Isleworth.
The exhibition was to be held the Monday and Tuesday following The Players Championship. But inclement weather in Ponte Vedra Beach has forced the PGA Tours fifth major to be carried over into Monday.
Seven of the 18 players competing in the Tavistock Cup made the cut at The Players: Tiger Woods (Isleworth), Craig Parry(I), Lee Janzen (I), Ernie Els (Lake Nona), Retief Goosen (LN), Sergio Garcia (LN) and Nick Faldo (LN).
There will still be play at Isleworth on Monday; though, it isnt a part of the official event.
Many of those who did not make the cut at The Players are competing in a two-man, better-ball competition. Among the scheduled field of 12 are Stuart Appleby (I), John Cook (I), Mark O'Meara (I), Robert Allenby (I), Scott Hoch (I), Charles Howell III (I), Ian Poulter (LN), Trevor Immelman (LN), Justin Rose (LN) and Mark McNulty (LN).
Annika Sorenstam, who won the Kraft Nabisco Championship, will be in the singles competition.
Tuesdays Single Medal Match Play will challenge both players from Isleworth and Lake Nona within a foursome. For example, if Els, Garcia, OMeara and Woods tee off in a foursome, then Els will be playing singles against both Woods and OMeara. Simultaneously, Garcia will be playing a singles match against Woods for one point and OMeara for a single point.
There will be 16 points available. Isleworth won last years inaugural event, 14 - 9 . at Lake Nona.
The Golf Channel will televise Tuesdays competition, starting at 12:00 p.m. ET, and will re-air it in Primetime.
The event is not open to the public
Each player on the winning team will receive $125,000 and each player on the losing team will receive $50,000. In addition, there will be $150,000 purse for lowest score - $100,000 for first place and $50,000 for second.
Over $500,000 will be distributed to multiple charities, including The First Tee and the MD Anderson Cancer Center.
Singles Matches:
11:00 a.m. Robert Allenby/Craig Parry (I) vs. Trevor Immelman/Justin Rose (LN)
11:15 a.m. Stuart Appleby/Scott Hoch (I) vs. Retief Goosen/Nick Faldo (LN)
11:30 a.m. Charles Howell/Lee Janzen (I) vs. Ian Poulter/Annika Sorenstam (LN)
11:45 a.m. Tiger Woods/Mark OMeara (I) vs. Ernie Els/Sergio Garcia (LN)
Related links:
  • Full Coverage - Tavistock Cup
  • TGC Airtimes - Tavistock Cup