Tiger Joins the Fray for Tavistock Cup


04 Tavistock CupThe organizers of the second-annual Tavistock Cup, a charitable event pitting some of the world's top golf stars from Isleworth and Lake Nona Country Clubs in Orlando against each other, have announced that Tiger Woods will join the fray at this year's event.
The event, to be telecast live and exclusively on The Golf Channel, will be played on Monday and Tuesday following this weeks Players Championship.
The rosters of the two teams read like a whos who of past and present Presidents Cup or Ryder Cup squads.
Joining Tiger on the Isleworth side is team captain Mark OMeara, Australians Stuart Appleby, Robert Allenby and Craig Parry, along with Americans Charles Howell, Scott Hoch, Lee Janzen and John Cook.
The Lake Nona team consists of captain Ernie Els and fellow countryman Retief Goosen, the worlds No. 1 womens player Annika Sorenstam, Englishmen Justin Rose, Trevor Immelman, Ian Poulter, Mark McNulty and Nick Faldo, rounded out with Spains Sergio Garcia.
This impressive list of players have combined for 34 major championships and a staggering 532 career worldwide victories. Lake Nona holds bragging rights in both departments with 18 major titles and 297 victories to 16 majors and 235 victories for Isleworth, respectively.
Isleworth, however, did win the first match up between the two teams last year with a 14 to 9 victory. That victory was earned not only without the services of Mr. Woods but it came on Lake Nonas home course as well. The event this year will be played at Isleworth.
We are pleased to be staging the 2005 Tavistock Cup at the beautiful Isleworth Country Club, stated Christopher Anand, a co-director of the Tavistock Group and Chairman of the tournament. The enthusiasm and support for this highly anticipated rematch from players, fans, press and repeat sponsors like Hughes Supply has been outstanding.
Day 1 of the Tavistock Cup will feature Four-ball Medal Match Play pitting two players from Isleworth against two players from Lake Nona. Within the four-ball, the two-person team with the lowest 18-hole batter-ball score will win the match. A total of 8 points will be available on Monday.
On Day 2 of the competition, Single Medal Match Play will challenge both players from Isleworth and Lake Nona within a foursome. For example, if Ernie Els, Sergio Garcia, Mark OMeara and Tiger Woods tee off in a foursome, then Els will be playing singles against both Tiger and OMeara. Simultaneously, Garcia will be playing a singles match against Tiger for one point and OMeara for a single point.
Each player on the winning team will receive $125,000 and each player on the losing team will receive $50,000. In addition, there will be $150,000 purse for lowest score on Day 2 - $100,000 for first place and $50,000 for second.
Over $500,000 will be distributed to multiple charities, including The First Tee and the MD Anderson Cancer Center.
Play begins Monday at 11:00 a.m. (ET) with The Golf Channel picking up coverage from 12 noon to 5 p.m. The Golf Channel will show a re-broadcast of the event each night in Primetime.

Lake Nona Isleworth
Ernie Els ' Captain Mark OMeara ' Captain
Annika Sorenstam Tiger Woods
Retief Goosen Stuart Appleby
Sergio Garcia Craig Parry
Ian Poulter Robert Allenby
Trevor Immelman Charles Howell III
Justin Rose Scott Hoch
Nick Faldo Lee Janzen
Mark McNulty John Cook

Related links:
  • Full Coverage - Tavistock Cup
  • TGC Airtimes - Tavistock Cup