Tours Announce Players of the Year


Tiger Woods, Allen Doyle and Chad Campbell have been selected as Players of the Year on their respective tours in 2001.
Woods receives his third consecutive Jack Nicklaus Trophy as PGA Tour Player of the Year, and his fourth in his five full seasons on tour. He won five times in 2001 and won the money title for the third straight season with $5,687,777.
Woods, who turns 26 on Dec. 30, also won the scoring title with a mark of 68.81. His Masters victory made him the first man to hold all four professional major titles at once.
In addition, Woods won The Players Championship, the Bay Hill Invitational, the Memorial Tournament and the World Golf Championships - NEC Invitational.
'It's a great honor and thrill for me to receive the tour's Player of the Year Award. It's always very special to be selected for an individual award like this by your peers,' Woods said. 'I look forward next year to building upon what I have accomplished in the past several years.'
The 53-year-old Doyle won twice, including the Ford Senior Players Championship, and posted 25 top-10 finishes in 34 starts in 2001. He led the Senior PGA Tour in earnings with $2,553,582 and also claimed the inaugural Charles Schwab Cup, donating the $1 million tax-deferred annuity to charity.
'It kind of blows my mind, winning Player of the Year is beyond my wildest expectations,' Doyle said. 'This award comes from my fellow players and shows that you've earned their respect. I thought when I finished third on the money list three years ago that would be my high-water mark, but this far surpasses that.'
Campbell was a rookie on the Buy.Com Tour, and thanks to his superior play will be a rookie on the PGA Tour in 2002. The 27-year-old won three times, thus earning a promotion to the PGA Tour this season.
He set a new single-season earnings record on the Buy.Com Tour with $394,552 while posting eight top-10s in 23 starts. He made 21 of 23 cuts and was second on the tour in scoring average at 69.69.
'It's quite an honor to be selected by your peers,' said Campbell. 'There were a lot of players who had good years and I feel fortunate to be both nominated and elected for the award.'
The winners will be honored at the PGA Tours Annual Awards Ceremony to be held on Jan. 20, 2002 during the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am in California.
More Golf Headlines from Dec. 17-31