UFs Alexander College Coach of the Year


College CentralFloridas Buddy Alexander has been named the Eaton Golf Pride Dave Williams National Coach of the Year while Mike Carlyle of South Carolina-Aiken and Scott Moe of Gustavus Adolphus have been named the Coaches of the Year in Divisions II and III, respectively.
Alexander led Florida to seven victories this season - second most in school history - and his team tied a Gator record with 14 top-10 finishes. Florida set all-time bests in consecutive top-five finishes and most top-five finishes in a season, both at 13. Also named the Southeast Region and SEC Coach of the Year, this is the third time that Alexander has been named national coach of the year after previously earning the honor in 1993 and 2001.
Carlisle led South Carolina-Aiken to its first national title in any sport after runner-up finishes on three previous occasions. A six-time Regional and five-time Peach Belt Conference Coach of the Year, Carlisle s team also won the NCAA Southeast Region, claimed seven second-place finishes and placed four members on the PING honorable mention All-America team.
Moes Gustavus Adolphus squad claimed the Division III championship for its fourth victory of the season. . In his eighth year at the helm of the Gustavus Adolphus mens golf program, Moe has been named the Central Region Coach of the Year and the MIAC Coach of the Year five times each and coached 22 All-Americans.
The Golf Coaches Association of America announced the awards.
Related links:
  • College Central Home