USGA Receives Record Number of US Open Entries


Far Hills, N.J. - The United States Golf Association has accepted a record 8,468 entries for the 2002 U.S. Open to be played June 13-16 at Bethpage State Park (Black Course) in Farmingdale, N.Y.
A total of 3,541 (41.8 percent) arrived via the USGA Internet site during the second year online Open entries were offered, an increase from 24 percent from 2001. The entry of two-time champion Lee Janzen was one of those received online.
In the last three days before the deadline of April 24, a total of 1,288 electronic entries were received and 75 of those entries were submitted in the final hour before the deadline. The last entry to arrive was from Brigham Gibbs, a professional from Laguna Niguel, Calif., who submitted his electronic entry at 4:58 p.m. (EDT), two minutes before the deadline.
Another 209 entries were received via overnight mail delivery in the last two days before the deadline.
In all, 8,839 entries were received. However, 371 were rejected because the entrant had played poorly in past qualifying rounds or had a USGA Handicap Index higher than 1.4. The number of entries is 13 more than the previous record of 8,455 entries accepted in 2000.
The youngest golfer to enter is 13-year-old Min So of Wichita, Kan. The oldest is 70-year-old Joe Moresco of Woodmere, N.Y.
Sixty-two golfers, including eight past champions, are currently fully exempt from having to qualify for the upcoming championship.
The number of fully exempt golfers will increase with the inclusion of the top 50 players from the World Rankings, the top 10 money leaders on the PGA Tour and the top two money leaders on the European PGA Tour at the end of May.
Local qualifying at more than 100 sites will begin May 6. Sectional qualifying at 12 sites will be held June 3-4.
Past champions who are fully exempt are Ernie Els (1997,1994); Retief Goosen (2001); Hale Irwin (1990,1979,1974); Lee Janzen (1998,1993); Steve Jones (1996); Tom Kite (1992); Corey Pavin (1995); and Tiger Woods (2000).
A U.S. Open champion receives a full exemption into the field for 10 years.
Players Who Are Fully Exempt For The 2002 U.S. Open:

Michael Allen    
Robert Allenby    
Paul Azinger    
Thomas Bjorn    
Mark Brooks    
Angel Cabrera    
Stewart Cink
Darren Clarke    
Chris DiMarco
Mark Calcavecchia    
Michael Campbell    
Joe Durant    
David Duval    
Ernie Els    
Bob Estes    
Niclas Fasth
Brad Faxon    
Bruce Fleisher    
Jim Furyk    
Sergio Garcia    
Matt Gogel    
Retief Goosen    
Padraig Harrington    
Scott Hoch    
David Howell    
Toshi Izawa    
Hale Irwin    
Lee Janzen    
Steve Jones    
Robert Karlsson    
Shingo Katayama    
Tom Kite    
Bernhard Langer    
Paul Lawrie    
Tom Lehman    
Justin Leonard    
Frank Lickliter    
Davis Love III    
Steve Lowery    
Scott McCarron    
Paul McGinley    
Billy Mayfair    
Rocco Mediate    
Phil Mickelson
Colin Montgomerie    
Jose Maria Olazabal    
Peter O'Malley    
Mark O'Meara    
Craig Parry    
Corey Pavin    
Craig Perks    
Kenny Perry    
Adam Scott    
Vijay Singh
Jeff Sluman    
Steve Stricker    
Hal Sutton    
David Toms    
Kirk Triplett    
Scott Verplank    
Mike Weir    
Tiger Woods

Full coverage of the 102nd U.S. Open