Wildcats Win William H Tucker


Courtesy of arizonaathletics.com
College CentralThe University of Arizonas mens golf team shot a four-over-par 292 Saturday and won the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate in Albuquerque, N.M. It was the Wildcats first victory of the 2004-05 season.
Led by sophomore Henry Liaw and senior Nathan Lashley, Arizona shot the final-round 292 to hold the lead and top the 19-team field with a 9-under 855 total. New Mexico (857), UNLV (863), Texas Tech (864) and Texas A&M (866) rounded out the top five places.
The victory was the 66th in the programs history and the ninth dating back to February 2003. The Wildcats have won four tournaments in each of the last two seasons, but this is the first victory for the team in fall competition since winning the CGF Match Play Championships in November 2001.
Arizona has played in 25 of the last 26 William H. Tucker Intercollegiates dating back to 1978, missing only in 1998. The team has now won the tournament four times (1987, 1990, 1991, 2004). Incidentally, Arizonas winning total of 855 Saturday was its lowest score in relation to par by 40 strokes through three events this season.
Liaw carded a final-round 74 (+2) to finish in a tie for third place at 209 (-7). It was his best finish of the season and marked the fifth top-10 effort of his career. Liaw finished four-strokes behind individual medalist Ryan Moore of UNLV.
Teammate Nathan Lashley shot a one-over 73 Saturday and finished in seventh place at 212 (-4). It was his best career finish and marked his second career top-10 finish. Fellow Wildcat Travis Esway concluded a stellar week of play by tallying a 218 (+2) and tie for 16th place. On Tuesday, Esway won the Ron Moore Invitational with a 12-under 204 total in his first collegiate event.
Sophomore Nathan Tyler shot a final-round 73 and tied for 24th place at 220 (+4). Also competing for the Wildcats was senior Nick Juszczak, who tied for 59th place at 225 (+9), sophomore Josh Esler, who tied for 62nd place at 226 (+10), and freshman Trey Denton, who tied for 76th place at 229 (+13).
The William H. Tucker Intercollegiate was contested at the University of New Mexicos The Championship Course, a par 72, 7,354-yard layout.
Arizona will next be in action on Oct. 25-26 at the Pac-10/Big Ten Challenge in Bandon, Ore.

Top Five TeamsTop Five Individuals
1. ARIZONA 855 (-9)1. Ryan Moore, UNLV 71-69-65=205 (-11)
2. New Mexico 857 (-7)2. Spencer Levin, New Mexico 71-75-71=207 (-9)
3. UNLV 864 (-1)3. Henry Liaw, Arizona 67-68-74=209 (-7)
4. Texas Tech 864 (E)Oscar Floren, Texas Tech 72-71-66=209 (-7)
5. Texas A&M 866 (+2)5. Jeremy Frye, Baylor 71-71-69=211 (-5)
Adam Hagen, Nevada 73-66-72=211 (-5)