Woods Els Headline Star-Studded Event


Tavistock CupORLANDO, Fla. ' Twenty of the worlds top golfers will gather Monday and Tuesday at Lake Nona Country Club with an eye on capturing neighborhood bragging rights and the 2007 Tavistock Cup.
Live coverage of the unique, team match-play between residents of Lake Nona Golf & Country Club and Isleworth Country Club airs on the GOLF CHANNEL Monday, March 26 and Tuesday, March 27 from noon ' 5 p.m. ET.
Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods shows the relaxed atmosphere at the Tavistock Cup. (WireImage)
Closed to the public, the only way to watch the Tavistock Cup competition is on the GOLF CHANNEL, which also will replay the competition in prime time at 8 p.m. ET both evenings.
Team Isleworth, captained by Mark O'Meara and headlined by world No. 1 Tiger Woods, is the defending champion. They defeated Lake Nona, who is captained once again by resident Ernie Els, 17 -12 at Isleworth a year ago.
It was the second consecutive year that Isleworth hosted the event, as the 2005 version, which was reduced to one day when THE PLAYERS Championship spilled into Monday, ended in a tie. The inaugural '04 edition, at Lake Nona, also went to Isleworth, 14 -9 .
The Orlando-area Isleworth and Lake Nona country clubs are two of the most exclusive country clubs in the world, and each counts some of the worlds top professional golfers among their residents. Isleworth is located in the southwest area of the city and boasts a handful of other famous athlete residents, while Lake Nona is fast becoming a popular east-side address for a host of international sports stars.
This year's participants have combined for 43 major championship titles and more than 600 worldwide wins. They will compete for a purse valued at more than $3.5 million, of which $1 million will be donated to charity on behalf of the winning team.
Round 1 will be Four-ball Medal Match Play. Within the four-ball, the two-person team with the lowest 18-hole, better-ball total will win the match. Each win is worth 2 points, a tie is worth 1 point and a loss is worth 0 points. In total, there will be 10 points awarded for Round 1.
Round 2 will be Four-ball Singles Medal Match Play. Each player in the group plays an 18-hole stroke play singles match against each of the opposing two players; therefore, each player plays two singles matches. A win is worth 1 point, a tie is worth point, and a loss is worth 0 points. In total, there will be 20 points awarded for Round 2.
It will take 15 points to win the Tavistock Cup.
The low individual scorer in the second round will receive $500,000 and the Payne Stewart Salver Award. Second place will get $300,000. Third place will net $200,000.
There will also be a long drive and hole-in-one contest on each par-3 hole. The winner for the longest drive will earn each member of his team $100,000. If a player gets a hole-in-one, then each member will win a designated prize, which includes Cadillac Escalades, Air Nautique Boats, Cartier Jewelry and Panasonic Home Theaters.
The teams are as follows:
Lake Nona
Ernie Els ' Captain
Retief Goosen
Chris DiMarco
Ian Poulter
Justin Rose
Henrik Stenson
Ben Curtis
Trevor Immelman
Graeme McDowell
Mark McNulty
Mark O'Meara - Captain
Tiger Woods
Stuart Appleby
Robert Allenby
Charles Howell III
John Cook
Craig Parry
Lee Janzen
Scott Hoch
Nick O'Hern
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Tavistock Cup