Woods Seeks Fifth Straight Grand Slam Title


Tiger Woods goes for his fifth consecutive PGA Grand Slam of Golf title this week at the Poipu Bay Golf Course in Kauai, Hawaii.
Woods is making a record sixth appearance in the tournament, which is exclusive to major winners. He was runner-up to Ernie Els in 1997, and has won each of the last four years.
Woods is arriving this week fresh off a tournament, the Dunlop Phoenix Open, in Japan. He will compete in the Skins Game this weekend in California.
Players qualify for the $1 million unofficial event by having won a major championship this year. Woods captured his third green jacket at the Masters Tournament, and then won his second U.S. Open.
Els ended Woods Grand Slam run at the British Open; however, the South African withdrew from the event earlier in the year due to a scheduling conflict.
Rich Beem won the final major of the year, the PGA Championship. He will be the lone first-timer in the two-day, stroke-play tournament. Like Woods, he may be a bit exhausted, as he has played the last two weeks in California and Australia.
Davis Love III, the 1997 PGA champion, and 1997 British Open winner Justin Leonard round out the four-man field. The two qualified because Woods won two majors and Els pulled out.
To be considered as an alternate, a player must be a major championship winner and finish atop a points system, which ranks players based on their performances in this years majors.
Leonard led the list, with Love finishing second.
Leonard tied for 20th in the Masters, tied for 12th in the U.S. Open, tied for 14th in the British Open, and tied for fourth in the PGA Championship. He finished fourth in the 1997 PGA Grand Slam of Golf.
Love tied for 14th in the Masters and British Open, shared 24th place in the U.S. Open, and tied for 48th in the PGA Championship. He finished third in the 1997 PGA Grand Slam, and second in the 2000 edition (also having been an alternate).
The event will take place Nov. 26-27. The winner will receive $400,000; second place gets $250,000; third place awards $200,000; the last man in the field will get $150,000.