Inaugural Big Break Invitational TV Coverage


PGA TOUR winner Tommy Gainey, Solheim Cup veterans Kristy McPherson, Gerina Piller and Ryann O’Toole and NFL Hall-of-Famer Jerry Rice headline the 40 person field for the Inaugural Big Break Invitational Reynolds Plantation.

The field entered into Big Break Invitational Reynolds Plantation represents several of the most successful players coming out of Golf Channel’s Big Break competition series. 

15 Past Big Break champions are scheduled to compete - including Justin Peters and Kip Henley, Big Break’s first two champions – in the $300,000 purse tournament with a $100,000 first prize.

Taking place at the Great Waters Course at Reynolds Plantation near Greensboro, Georgia, the field of 40 (20 men and 20 women) represent 21 seasons of Big Break, including several of the series’ most memorable competitors who are playing on the world’s top professional tours.  The Ritz Carlton Lodge at Reynolds Plantation will serve as host resort and tournament headquarters.

The first two rounds will feature a Modified Stableford format (players earning points for birdie and higher and negative points for bogey and lower), with the 12 men and 12 women earning the most points after the first two rounds making the cut.  Thursday’s third round will feature match play (six men vs. six men / six women vs. six women), with 12 match-play winners advancing to Friday’s final round of 18-holes of stroke play.

Tuesday, September 30: 3:00-6:00PM ET on Golf Channel - Modified Stableford format

Wednesday, October 1: 3:00-6:00PM ET on Golf Channel - Modified Stableford format

Thursday, October 2:  3:00-6:00PM ET on Golf Channel - Match Play

Friday, October 3: 3:00-6:00PM ET on Golf Channel - Stroke-Play

For the past 21 seasons, Golf Channel’s Big Break competition series has proven to be the launching pad of many aspiring professional golfers looking to take that next step in their golf careers. The Big Break concept pits highly skilled golfers against each other in a variety of challenges that test their physical skills and mental toughness.  During the series’ 21 seasons, past Big Break champions have won tournament exemptions to compete on some of the world’s top professional circuits, including the PGA TOUR, Champions Tour, European Tour, LPGA Tour, Tour and Canadian Tour.