11-win Cal headlines 30-team NCAA field


No. 1-ranked Cal broke the modern-day NCAA record for most wins in a season on Saturday, cruising to a 20-shot victory at the NCAA Pullman Regional.

It was the Golden Bears’ 11th victory in 13 tournaments this season, snapping the previous record of 10 by Oklahoma State (1985-86).

Now, Cal will put its incredible season on the line at the NCAA Championship, set for May 28-June 2 at the Capital City Club’s Crabapple Course outside Atlanta. 

Six regional sites determined this year’s 30-team field. The top five teams from each regional, along with the top finisher from a non-qualifying team, punched their ticket to the NCAA finals. 

The NCAA Championship features three days of stroke-play competition, after which the top eight teams advance to match play and an individual champion will be crowned. The eight teams then compete in match play until the head-to-head final on Sunday. 

Pullman Regional 

Teams: Cal, TCU, St. Mary’s (Calif.), USC, Ball State

Individual: Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas

Baton Rouge Regional 

Teams: Alabama, Florida, LSU, Tennessee, Coastal Carolina

Individual: Tyler Klava, South Alabama

Tempe Regional 

Teams: UCLA, Georgia, UCF, Texas A&M, Arizona State

Individual: Dustin Korte, Austin Peay State

Columbus Regional

Teams: New Mexico, Auburn, South Carolina, UNLV, Texas Tech 

Individual: Denny McCarthy, Virginia 

Fayetteville Regional

Teams: Illinois, Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma State, Kent State

Individual: Mario Clemens, SMU

Tallahassee Regional

Teams: North Florida, Washington, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Oklahoma 

Individual: Daniel Walker, Richmond