All-female cast set for 'Big Break Atlantis' premiere


ORLANDO, Fla. – The champion of Golf Channel’s “Big Break Atlantis” competition will have the opportunity to compete in the LPGA Kingsmill Championship (Sept. 6-9) and earn $50,000 in cash – one of the biggest prizes in the series’ 17-season history.

“Big Break Atlantis” will feature an all-female cast of 12 professionals attempting to take that next step in their golf careers. The show will premiere May 14 at 9 p.m. ET on Golf Channel.

In addition to the tournament exemption and cash, the winner will also receive an endorsement contract from Adams Golf, which includes an additional $10,000 in cash; a $10,000 shopping spree from Dick’s Sporting Goods; a $10,000 car-rental credit courtesy of Avis Car Rental, full exempt status and all entry fees waived for a Symetra Tour season and an all-expense paid return trip for two to Atlantis, Paradise Island, Bahamas.

“Big Break Atlantis” will showcase a cast of 12 women at different stages of their golf careers. Several are playing on the Symetra Tour (LPGA developmental tour), while others either turned professional for the series or are giving professional golf a second try.  The series also will feature special guest appearances from world No. 1 Yani Tseng and LPGA pro Gerina Piller, a former Big Break competitor from the season taped on Prince Edward Island.  Golf Channel’s Tom Abbott and Stephanie Sparks return as co-hosts for the series.

The competitors on Big Break Atlantis are: Anya Alvarez, 22, Pittsburgh; Shannon Fish, 23, Spring, Texas; Natalia Ghilzon, 21, Windsor, Ontario; Meghan Hardin, 19, Lake Arrowhead, Calif.; Selanee Henderson, 25, Temecula, Calif.; Marcela Leon, 31, Orlando, Fla. / Monterrey, Mexico; Aubrey McCormick, 29, Arlington, Va.; Allison Micheletti, 24, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Zakiya Randall, 20, Atlanta, Ga.; Gloriana Soto, 25, Windermere, Fla. / San Jose, Costa Rica; Christina Stockton, 24, Rocklin, Calif.; Kelly Villarreal, 29, Birmingham, Ala.

Shot in January at the Bahamas resort, the 11-part series will unfold on the Tom Weiskopf-designed Ocean Club Golf Course, a championship layout featuring many seaside greens and tees stretched over 7,100 yards of coastline.

The Big Break show concept pits golfers against each other in a variety of challenges that test their physical skills and mental toughness.  One contestant will be eliminated each week during “Big Break Atlantis,” with the last player standing awarded the winner.

Past Big Break participants include PGA Tour players Tommy “Two Gloves” Gainey and Matt Every, as well as LPGA players Ryann O’Toole and Kristy McPherson.