×
Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
Free
install
Franklin Templeton Shootout View Leaderboard >
  • 1
  • Day/Tringale
  • -32
  • F
  • T3
  • Bradley/Villegas
  • -29
  • F
  • T3
  • Horschel/Poulter
  • -29
  • F
  • T5
  • McDowell/Woodland
  • -28
  • F
  • T7
  • Howell III/Verplank
  • -26
  • F
  • T7
  • Leonard/Sabbatini
  • -26
  • F
  • 9
  • Palmer/Walker
  • -25
  • F
  • 10
  • Reed/Snedeker
  • -24
  • F
Prev Next

GFC Search

 

Austin gets four-shot penalty for 15 clubs

RSS

PITTSFORD, N.Y. – Two weeks removed from his fourth PGA Tour victory at the Sanderson Farms Championship, Woody Austin’s chances for No. 5 vanished in two holes early Friday at the PGA Championship.

Austin had been considering trading his normal 3-iron for a 21-degree hybrid and forgot to remove it from his bag before teeing off for Round 2, violating the 14-club rule which resulted in a four-stroke penalty.

Austin, who opened his week at Oak Hill with a 69, discovered he had 15 clubs in his bag on the third hole and told a rules official. Under Rule 4-4, the penalty is two strokes for each hole he played with the extra club to a maximum of four strokes.

“That’s the first time I’ve ever done something like that,” said Austin, who shot a 75 to finish at 4 over par and miss the cut by a stroke. “Now all I’ve got to do is figure out how to get (disqualified).”

Austin gave the club to his son after he discovered it and said because it was raining when he teed off neither he nor his caddie noticed the 15th club.

“I could have been even par and in the tournament, but instead I’m down the road,” he said. “So, I’m real disappointed.”