×
Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
Free
install
Franklin Templeton Shootout View Leaderboard >
  • 1
  • Day/Tringale
  • -32
  • F
  • T3
  • Bradley/Villegas
  • -29
  • F
  • T3
  • Horschel/Poulter
  • -29
  • F
  • T5
  • McDowell/Woodland
  • -28
  • F
  • T7
  • Howell III/Verplank
  • -26
  • F
  • T7
  • Leonard/Sabbatini
  • -26
  • F
  • 9
  • Palmer/Walker
  • -25
  • F
  • 10
  • Reed/Snedeker
  • -24
  • F
Prev Next

GFC Search

 

Barber disqualified again from Web.com Tour event

RSS

For the third time in less than 18 months, Blayne Barber has been disqualified from a tournament because of a scorecard error.

Barber shot a 4-under 67 Thursday in the first round of the Brasil Champions on the Web.com Tour, a total that put him three shots off the early pace in Sao Paulo. According to a Tour spokesman, though, Barber failed to sign his scorecard before leaving the scoring area and was subsequently disqualified.

A former standout at Auburn, Barber disqualified himself days after advancing past the first round of PGA Tour Q-School in 2012, realizing after the fact that he had incorrectly applied a penalty for touching a loose impediment in a hazard. Then last August, Barber appeared to be in contention at the Mylan Classic on the Web.com Tour but was again disqualified, this time for signing an incorrect scorecard after a second-round 66.

Last fall, the 24-year-old advanced to the finals of Web.com Tour Q-School, securing playing privileges on the developmental circuit for the 2014 season. He posted a pair of high finishes in his first two starts this year, tying for 21st at the Colombia Championship and following that with a T-12 last week at the Chile Classic - a finish that came despite a two-shot penalty for playing his ball from an incorrect spot on the green.

During his second round last week, Barber stood over a 3-foot putt on the 16th green and realized his ball had moved slightly after he had removed his coin. After conferring with his playing partner - but not calling for an official - he replaced the ball to its original spot and made the putt. Per Rule 20-7, he should have played the ball from its new position since he did not originally cause it to move, and the penalty turned his bogey-free 64 into a 66.