GFC Search

 

Better to be safe than sorry for Furyk

RSS

NORTON, Mass. – When Jim Furyk’s second shot sailed under the scoreboard and into a hazard adjacent TPC Boston’s 18th  green on Saturday the veteran was in no hurry to make his next play.

His ball was just inside the hazard but his line of sight to the hole was blocked by the scoreboard, which meant he could take a free drop away from the obstruction but he had to remain in the hazard. After studying the situation for a moment, he decided to take a stroke penalty and drop outside the hazard.

After he made a bogey-6 on the hole he notified a rules official he wanted them to review the incident on tape before he signed his card, concerned he may have touched some leaves with his golf club in the hazard which would have been a penalty.

After the review officials ruled Furyk, who was disqualified last week for missing his pro-am tee time at The Barclays, had not violated any rules and he signed for his 73.

“I’ve got the yips with being DQ’d right now,” he smiled.