Breaking down Sundays battle for LPGA awards


ORLANDO, Fla. – Na Yeon Choi locked up the LPGA money-winning title Saturday, but three other major honors remain up for grabs.

With Jiyai Shin missing the cut at the LPGA Tour Championship, nobody’s in position to pass Choi for the money title. Whatever Choi wins today, it pads her $1,814,558 in earnings.

Here’s how the other three major awards are shaking out:

Rolex Player of the Year – It is a points-based award, but forget the points. It’s a three-player race. If Cristie Kerr wins, she’s the Player of the Year. If Choi wins, she’. Player of the Year. If neither wins, Yani Tseng takes home the honor.

Vare Trophy – Kerr needs to post a score today that is three shots better than Choi to win the award for best scoring average this season. Choi’s scoring average (69.87) is three hundredths of a point better than Kerr’s. If Kerr posts a score three shots better than Choi Sunday, Kerr will win the Vare Trophy by seven thousandths of a point.

Rolex No. 1 world ranking – With No. 1 Shin missing the 54-hole cut, four players can take over the top spot on Sunday. Suzann Pettersen, who is nine shots off the lead, can take the No. 1 ranking for the first time in her career with a victory or a second-place finish. Kerr, three shots back, needs to win to take the top ranking. Choi, seven shots back, can ascend with a victory if Pettersen finishes third or worse.