Caddie Steve Williams was a hard man to find Sunday at Augusta, making nary a sound as he slipped from the 10th green back to his rental house without speaking to reporters.
In the 15-minute interview, Williams said “to be part of someone’s dream … to see the emotions that poured out of him on Sunday was just amazing.”
Much has been made of his read on the second playoff hole, when Williams told Scott to start the birdie putt two cups outside the hole for the eventual winning putt.
Williams said a similar situation occurred at the 1999 PGA Championship, when he overruled Tiger Woods’ read on a 10-foot putt on the 71st hole at Medinah. After Woods won his second major championship, he sent Williams a large photo with a note thanking him for the good read.
Scott’s victory was particularly satisfying, Williams said, because “one of the sole reasons I went to work for him was to see if he could get over that hump.” After beginning to work with Scott in summer 2011, Williams said he intends to caddie through next season, then reevaluate his career.
In the video, Williams was also asked about the controversial drop that his former employer took during the second round.
Though he said that Woods “didn’t knowingly violate the rules” and “certainly wasn’t trying to gain anything on the field,” he thinks that the 14-time major winner should have been disqualified.
“From what I can gather, he took an illegal drop, signed a scorecard and left the course,” Williams said. “Under most circumstances, that would result in disqualification. … If the Rules of Golf are upheld, I believe he should have been disqualified.”