Calcavecchia crumbles with a quad


ST. ANDREWS, Scotland – Things were going badly for Mark Calcavecchia already but at the Old Course's fifth hole it got worse.

After hitting his drive into a pot bunker and chipping out sideways he flared his next shot into a bush right of the fairway and hit a provisional.

After being told by marshalls they had found 'a ball' Calc picked up his provisional, but the ball that was found was not his, according to Jim Hyler, the rules official walking with the group.

After a few moments of clarification, he was assessed a second one-stroke penalty. When he finally completed the hole it all added up to a 4-over-par 9 on the hole, which dropped him to even for the event.